粉钻 阿盖尔:一种珍稀钻石的历程

阿盖尔(Argyle):一种珍稀钻石的历程

阿盖尔 (Argyle) 粉钻的历程
阿盖尔 (Argyle) 钻石矿坐落于西澳远东北地区的金伯利区 (Kimberly Region),直到近期为止一直是世界上生产钻石最多的钻石矿。

世界上珍稀粉钻中有90%以上产于金伯利,令人惊讶的是,您的手掌可以包住一整年中重量超过半克拉的粉钻产量。

已有人预测阿盖尔 (Argyle) 钻石矿的开采寿命将于2019年终结,全球粉钻产量将出现骤降,而这种美丽钻石的投资价值将急剧上涨。

出于这点考虑,阿盖尔 (Argyle) 钻石矿的所有人力拓矿业集团(Rio Tinto)开始为金伯利区 (Kimberly Region) 的未来感到担忧,因为这将成为对经济和社会均不利的因素。该机构当务之急要做的其中一件事是帮助发展更强健、不依赖于阿盖尔 (Argyle) 钻石矿运营的东金伯利经济。

阿盖尔(Argyle):土生土长的澳大利亚钻石矿

西澳东金伯利区 (Kimberly Region) 是阿盖尔 (Argyle) 钻石矿的家乡。回溯到20世纪60年代,寻找黄金的探矿者发现了该区域东北地区——阿盖尔 (Argyle) 湖附近斯莫克里克(Smoke Creek)的矿床,但是,直到20世纪70年代某个时候,才有人开始怀疑哪里可能存在大量钻石资源。

在西澳大利亚大学校外开展的一项地质学研究表明,该区域常见的金云火山岩与角砾云橄岩(一类通常与钻石相关的岩石)相似。在阿什顿矿业有限公司的资助下,对该地区的勘探开始。勘探的结果是发现了一些小钻石。

1976年,CRA Limited 接管处于萌芽阶段的阿盖尔 (Argyle) 钻石矿,CRA 设定了两大目标:第一个目标是找到重量超过0.25克拉的钻石;第二个目标是查明一条出产这些钻石的岩筒。该公司战略的实现大部分依赖于雨季,该公司希望在湿雨天气中,雨水将钻石冲到水床上的情况下,让他们可找到外露的岩筒。CRA 后来成为现在我们口中的“力拓矿业集团”。

但是,该钻石矿的成功开采之路面临着一些困难,第一个困难就是金伯利区 (Kimberly Region) 地势偏远;此外,基础设施配备为零使得该公司的工作更加费钱又费力。该公司需使用直升机将取样器载至金伯利各个不同的水床取样,研究花费多年时间才取得积极成果。万幸的是所有的艰苦努力没有白费,到1979年,地质学家已得以查明大量钻石砂矿矿床,他们确定位于 Ragged Ranges 的斯莫克里克是钻石矿的理想位置。在之后两个月中,地质学家找到了一个含钻石的金云火山岩岩筒,被称为“AK1 岩筒”。

发现该岩筒之后,斯莫克里克的砂矿开采进展很快。到1984年,CRA 开始建造阿盖尔 (Argyle) 钻石矿,18个月中建成了急需的基础设施,并斥资4.5亿澳元建造 AK1 加工厂。到1984年,阿盖尔 (Argyle) 钻石矿的建造正式动工。

自那日起,已采掘出的重量达1克拉的钻石超过5亿颗。如今,阿盖尔 (Argyle) 钻石矿总产量中有95%称为工业级钻石,5%达到宝石品级。

Pink Diamonds Argyle – A Rare History

The Argyle Pink Diamond Story

The Argyle mine is located in the Kimberley region in the far northeast area of Western Australia, and until recently was the world’s largest single producer of diamonds.

Over 90% of the world’s rare pink diamonds are produced in the Kimberley – amazingly a whole year’s worth of diamonds, over half a carat, would fit in the palm your hand.

Already it is predicted the life of the mine will end in the year 2019, and will see world’s production of pink diamonds plummet, while the investment value of this beautiful stone increase dramatically.

With this in mind, Rio Tinto, the owner of the Argyle mine, is concerned with the future of the region, which is one of significant economic and social disadvantage. One of the organisation’s key priorities is to help build a stronger and more robust East Kimberley economy that is not dependent upon the mine’s operations.

Argyle – An Australian Original

The East Kimberly region in Western Australia is the home of the Argyle mine. Back in the 1960s, prospectors looking for gold found mineral deposits in the northern area of the region, in Smoke Creek near to Lake Argyle. However, it was not until some time in the 1970s that suspicions began to grow that there might be a significant diamond source.

Geological studies based out of the University of Western Australia indicated a similarity between the Lamproite rock common to the region, and Kimberlite, a type of rock frequently associated with diamonds. With funding from Ashton Mining Ltd, an exploration of the area commenced. The result of this was the discovery of small diamonds.

In 1976 CRA Limited took over management of the budding mine. They set two clear objectives. First to locate a diamond larger than 0.25 carat, and second to pinpoint a pipe that would yield these diamonds. A great part of the company strategy was dependant on the rainy season. The company hoped the wet conditions would lead them to exposed pipes where diamonds were washed away to the waterbeds. It is CRA that later would become what we now know as Rio Tinto Limited.

The journey to making a success of the mine however presented some challenges beginning with the remoteness of the Kimberly region. Furthermore, zero access to infrastructure made the company’s efforts arduous and costly. Helicopters were needed to take sample collectors to various Kimberley waterbeds and it was years before research yielded positive results. Thankfully all of the hard work paid off, by 1979 geologists were able to pinpoint substantial alluvial diamond deposits. It was decided that Smoke Creek in the Ragged Ranges was a good location for the mine. In the following 2 months, a diamond-bearing Lamproite pipe called ‘AK1 pipe’ was identified.

Following this, things moved quickly with alluvial mining operations at Smoke Creek. By 1984 construction began on the Argyle mine and within 18 months, the company had built much needed infrastructure and spent $450 million for the AK1 plant construction. By 1984 the Argyle mine was officially commissioned.

Since this date, more than half a billion carat diamonds have been unearthed. Today, 95% of the Argyle mines overall productivity goes to industrial grade diamonds and 5% to gem quality.